This is a past event. Registration is closed. View other The Economist Corporate Network events.

When

Tuesday, October 20, 2020 (11 AM - 12:15 PM)

Add to Calendar

Event Details

Globally, travel and tourism accounted for one in four of the net jobs created over the past five years and an estimated 10% of global economic output.


The sector is a particularly important source of growth for many developing economies, contributing more than one third of GDP for some countries in South Asia and Central America.


But the covid19 pandemic has triggered an unprecedented crisis in the sector. In 2020, international travel and tourism is expected to register its worst performance, in terms of the number of travellers and of revenue, since the 1950s.


Against this backdrop, the Economist Corporate Network will explore the prospects for a recovery in leisure and business travel in a global online event on 20 October (9am Johannesburg; 11am Dubai; 3pm China, Singapore & KL; 4pm Tokyo & Seoul).


Members of the ECN around the world are invited to join this exclusive online event, in which we, and an exceptional panel of travel industry leaders, will discuss what it is going to take to get the world travelling again.

Speakers

  • Dick Benschop (President and Chief Executive Officer at Royal Schiphol Group)

    Dick Benschop

    President and Chief Executive Officer at Royal Schiphol Group

  • Tim Cordon (Area Senior Vice President Middle East and Africa at Radisson Hotel Group)

    Tim Cordon

    Area Senior Vice President Middle East and Africa at Radisson Hotel Group

  • Colm McLoughlin (Executive Vice Chairman and Chief Executive Officer at Dubai Duty Free)

    Colm McLoughlin

    Executive Vice Chairman and Chief Executive Officer at Dubai Duty Free

  • Akira Mitsumasu (Vice President, Global Marketing at Japan Airlines)

    Akira Mitsumasu

    Vice President, Global Marketing at Japan Airlines

  • Robert Willock (Director, MENA of The Economist Corporate Network)

    Robert Willock

    Director, MENA of The Economist Corporate Network

Menu